Spicy Sweet Chili Dorito Mac N’ Cheeze

Sweet Spicy Chili Dorito Mac N' Cheeze

When I first went veg, I felt like I was falling off of a cliff into a sea of brown rice, tofu, and broccoli…. So I’m sure you can imagine how thrilled I was when I discovered spicy sweet chili Doritos and cashew cheeze! I combined these two into one devilishly delicious dish that will win over even the most hardcore carnivores– and your vegan friends will love it, too! You’ll need:

  • 1 box of your favorite eggless macaroni
  • A few handfuls of cashews
  • 1 fire-roasted orange bell pepper
  • Lemon juice
  • Nutritional yeast
  • A few dashes of hot sauce (I use Sriracha)
  • Cumin
  • Chili powder
  • Salt
  • Onion powder
  • 2 tbsp. brown sugar

Boil cashews for 15 minutes (if you prefer, you can soak them overnight). While the cashews are boiling, roast your orange pepper directly on the stove until charred, and then pop it in a bowl and cover with a plate for about 15 minutes. This will steam the pepper and make it easier to peel. Drain the cashews and peel the pepper with a knife. Next, combine these along with a copious amount of lemon juice, nooch, and water (I use enough to cover the other ingredients) in a blender. Process until smooth and creamy. At this stage, I usually add the cheeze sauce to the macaroni so that I can season it accordingly. Add hot sauce, cumin, a generous amount of chili powder, onion powder, brown sugar, and salt, and stir to combine. Season to taste. Top with crushed spicy sweet chili Doritos and dig in!

Shoutout to the Vegan Zombie for the cashew cheeze inspo! Here’s his nacho cheese recipe: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JabNC-LW9OE

Leave a Reply

