Scrumdiddlyumptious Pesto Tofu Scramble

Tofu scramble takes the cake as one of my favorite things. It’s easy and fast and messy and most of all,  crazy delicious. I usually go for a more traditional, egg-ey flavor in my scrambles, but I was fresh out of black salt so I decided to put a different spin on this one. No regrets. There was a little store-bought vegan pesto in my fridge, so I made use of it– but definitely make your own if you can swing it!

scramble 2scramble 3scramble 4

scramble 5scramble 6scramble 7

I topped mine with a few diced tomatoes and plenty of nutritional yeast. I couldn’t resist taking a little bite out of that toast before I took this picture! scramble 8

A truly beautiful bite.

What you’ll need:

scrambe 1

  • 1 package extra-firm tofu
  • Oil, for sauteing
  • 1 red onion
  • 1 bell pepper
  • 2 large cloves of garlic
  • salt, to taste
  • black pepper, to taste
  • crushed red pepper, to taste
  • 4 tbsp prepared vegan pesto
  • A dash of turmeric, for color
  • small handful of fresh basil (or 1 tbsp dried basil)
  • Nutritional yeast

The How-t0:

  1. Start by chopping your bell pepper and onion and mincing the garlic. If you’re using fresh basil, chop it up as small as you can.
  2. Saute the pepper, onion, and garlic over medium heat until the onions are translucent and the peppers are tender.
  3. Drain as much liquid as possible from the tofu and crumble it into the pan with the veggies. Turn down the heat a little.
  4. Add in the remaining ingredients except for the nutritional yeast. Season to taste and cook until hot. If it’s bland, try adding a little extra garlic powder and salt– it works wonders!
  5. Sprinkle with nooch and serve it up with a couple of pieces of toast, hashbrowns, or roll it up into a breakfast burrito. I’m a sucker for buttered toast, but because of the palm oil in my beloved Earth Balance buttery spread I’ve been putting olive oil and a sprinkle of salt on my toast before popping it in the oven. It’s not butter, but it’s not bad. Enjoy! ❤
Leave a Reply

